Friday Nov. 5, 2010 | Charlotte Mecklenburg Schools Changes

November 3, 2010 at 1:04 pm | Posted in Coming Up | 17 Comments

Charlotte Mecklenburg schools are facing severe cuts and they’ve introduced a range of options to meet budgetary constraints. Perhaps the most controversial proposal has been a decision to close several schools. The list of schools under the budget ax has not only met with vocal pushback by area parents and teachers but it’s also changed over time. The CMS school board will conduct a vote on school closings Tuesday, November 9th. In advance of that important vote we talk with two reporters keeping a close eye on this topic and find out how which schools are likely to close, who will be affected and what the future may hold for our school system.

Guests
Lisa Miller
– Staff Reporter, WFAE
Ann Doss Helms –  Staff Writer, Charlotte Observer

Add and read comments

Listen to Show

17 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Please do a PART II to this show ASAP—just like all discussions concerning this topic the conversation is often truncated (usually by time) therefore the ideas are never matured and most importantly the Board and Gorman sqeak by with few hard questions being clarified or justified.

    I have been to several of these community forums because I am a homeowner in Lincoln Heights and I believe in the strength of my community schools. I have a daughter which is currently enrolled in Chantilly Montessori, but I am as dedicated to this issue as if it was my daughter being ejected, shuffled, pawned to balance a budget, or something, so they say.

    The one thing that is most disturbing to me is that the logic that seems to be absent in the Boards/Gormans process and the rubric they have used to make decisions seems to be nothing more that smoke screens.

    DO A PART II!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. What happens to the tax dollars contributed by thousands of parents who send their children to private school? With Wachovia closing and so many private businesses suffering what happens when those parents are unable to afford private school turn their children to CMS. If CMS can’t make ends meet currently with tax money contributed for a child not using the system what happens when those children need to use these resources.

  3. Excellent beat ! I wish to apprentice whilst you amend your web site, how can i subscribe for
    a blog site? The account helped me a applicable deal.
    I have been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided vivid transparent idea

  4. Have you wondered I’d like to sell my car for cash?

    There are lots of options, so it can be overwhelimg unless you know who you can trust.

  5. I’ve been considering whether to sell my jaguar for
    a while now. And it’s a nightmare to hear about good car buyers in the local area – until I
    came across a reputable group of dealers.
    See trusted car buyers can be really difficult to stumble upon on the web these days – unless of
    course, you know where has been recommended.

  6. I personally look at plenty of blog sites, though yours is a pleasure
    to read through.

  7. I personally read a considerable amount of blogging sites,
    though your site is a pleasure to read.

  8. Fine point. Could not agree with you more.

  9. Your blog is actually awesome. Could I follow you on Google??

  10. Really adore browsing your site. Have you got any tips about how to set one up?

  11. Interesting article. Will you direct me to more of your articles??

  12. Wonderful post. Would you link me to some more of your articles?

  13. I am thinking of starting my personal web site.
    Is it possible to provide me with a handful of tips?

  14. If only I could write faster. Would like to get set up a web site similar to this.

  15. Amazing remark. Couldn’t agree more.

  16. Could I sign up to your articles??

  17. Hiya, are you with Google +?? Could be fantastic for me to
    read through your future articles or blog posts


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

