Wednesday May 5, 2010 | Substance Abuse & Youth

May 4, 2010 at 11:24 am | Posted in Coming Up | 7 Comments

We’ll meet a North Carolina mom who recently ran the Boston Marathon in support of her son’s recovery from drug addiction. Her road to run has been a long one, but started with the difficult decision of how to help her son. We’ll talk about teen addiction, the stigma surrounding addiction and what parents are able to do to help their children recover.
Guests
Angela Hamilton
– Mother of a 16 year old recovering from substance abuse
Rev. Susan Smith
– Asst. Executive Director of Exodus Homes in Hickory
Chris Johnson – Founder and Facilitator of Young Men of Integrity

Click here to add and read comments

Listen to Show

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Charlotte Talks, Adam Edvalson. Adam Edvalson said: Wednesday May 5, 2010 | Substance Abuse & Youth « Charlotte Talks http://bit.ly/aYfzjY […]

  2. We also have a precious son who has lyme disease and became addicted to pain medication, pot, and probably some we aren’t aware of. He has been diagnosed as ADHD and bi-polar. My husband and I do not agree on “tough love” and we are limited in money resources. He seems better, but I still think he needs help, not sure where to turn.

    • Hi Denise,
      Where do you live? I found Cognitive Connections through the football coach at school and also called several counselors who specialized in adolesence to see WHAT was out there when I wasn’t sure where to turn as well. Principal at school may also lead you to some resources. I’m glad he “seems better”, and please stay on it. In individual therapy, Nolan could easily “hide” behind the substance abuse issues. Progress was limited for him in that arena. I wish your family the best. Angela Hamilton

  3. I suspect that my son is at high risk for substance abuse. He has been suspended for pot use & has an addictive personality. He’s been a defiant, argumentative person his whole life, but also quite intelligent & creative. We see a family therapist, but he has no good suggestions for drug counseling. I’ve googled “drug counseling” for the Charlotte area, but haven’t found anything. Hickory is too far away & we don’t need addiction therapy, we need early intervention. I’m considering a wilderness therapy program if he’s caught again, but I’d like to help him in the meantime. Does anyone have suggestions for drug counseling for a teen BEFORE he becomes an addict?

    • Hi Lisa,
      I’m sorry Cognitive Connections isn’t close enough, but I understand the logistics. I don’t know any drug prevention/family education programs in Charlotte; however, someone emailed in the show yesterday mentioning a clinic in Dilworth. Not sure if that’s early intervention or not, but maybe they can steer you toward something helpful. Meanwhile, I think the family approach is crucial and communicating straightforward with your son about consequences (and following through) if any drug abuse continues. Random drug testing in the home and/or at your doctor’s office would be very appropriate and lets him know you’re serious while giving you information to know if he’s clean or not. Since he’s already been suspended, I think being direct with letting him know the consequences is appropriate.
      I hope you don’t have to consider Phoenix Outdoors but if so, they are very helpful over the phone with any questions and have an excellent on line questionnaire to help you sort through your child’s issues and needs.
      I sincerely wish your son and your family the best! Angela Hamilton
      I have also asked Chris

  4. […] Wednesday M&#1072&#1091 5, 2010 | Substance Abuse & Youth « Charlotte Talks […]

  5. Wow! Finally I got a webpage from where I be capable of
    truly get useful information regarding my study and knowledge.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

