Friday September 4, 2009 | Chris Gardner

September 3, 2009 at 10:44 am | Posted in Coming Up | 7 Comments

Chris Gardner is best known as the author of the book The Pursuit of Happyness, and the subject of the major motion picture of the same name. Gardner spent months caring for his son while homeless but he survived that ordeal to become a stockbroker and, later, the head of his own successful brokerage firm. He has written a new book, Start Where You Are: Life Lessons in Getting From Where You Are to Where You Want to Be, to share his philosophy with others. He’s coming to Charlotte for a literary festival but first he joins us to talk about his remarkable life.
Guest
Chris Gardner – Author

Click here to add and read comments

Listen to Show

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Writing from Mooresville – I’d like to hear Mr. Gardner tell us a story of where he has hired someone who indeed was down on his luck. In other words, where he gave someone a break as others gave him

  2. I am at the intersection Chris talks about – 58 years old, about to leave Charlotte, unemployed due to relocation for my wife’s new job, and contemplating my life long dream of being a writer. I am scared to death and excited and trying to balance that teeter totter of emotions. I can’t wait to read Chris’s new book. Thanks for the great words on just the day I needed them.

    J

  3. I was listening to the show while driving to CPCC-Levine to take a test in towards a Network Technology degree. I have worked my entire adult life. At age 51, having been laid off from work since Jan ’09, I am “starting from where I am.” The conversation was just what I needed to confirm that I am going in the right direction, even with baby steps.

  4. Mike, your interview with Chris this morning is a clarion call for fatherhood! Please reconsider the need to do a show on updating our custody standard to “Presumed Shared Parenting” to keep more fathers in children’s lives. The current standard, “child’s best interest” results in mothers getting custody 85% of the time, even though research clearly indicates kids do best emotionally, academically, & economically with TWO involved parents.

    K.I.D.S. (Kids’ Interest=Dual Support) is working to obtain this legislative change & succeeded with groups like ours across NC in
    securing section 2.3 of The Studies Act of 2009. But the study may not get done unless there is more grassroots support. We need your exposure!

    Previously Wendy suggested getting people to give arguments against making the change. I can recommend retired attorney Neil Sandler, currently a Mooresville mediator, & attorney Angelina Maletto, a Charlotte fathers’ rights advocate.

    Please get back to me at your earliest convenience. Thanks for all you do! I even enjoyed your recent interview at the Booth with Jersey Boys cast members.

    Sheila Peltzer, President of K.I.D.S., an affiliate of ACFC (American
    Coalition for Fathers & Children)
    704-350-1343
    http://www.kidsinterestequalsdualsupport.org

  5. It is absolutely wonderful to hear stories of men who have faced great odds and who not only met the challenge, but are also inspiring others with their message. As an African American, I am particularly pleased that he has a “no excuses” policy towards life. I try to instill that spirit into everyone around me just as he has done. Great show.

  6. Very Inspirational, Great Role Model, THANK YOU!

  7. $25 a ticket? Really? Would love to go but $50 for my wife and I is a little extreme. It is kind of weird that the people that need to hear Chris’s words the most can not afford it. Still love ya man, you give me a lot of hope. Thanks


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

