Friday August 7, 2009 | Finding a Job in Today’s Economy

August 6, 2009 at 12:21 pm | Posted in Coming Up | 3 Comments

We’ll look at what its like on both sides of the job search in the current economy. We’ll talk about the tried and true strategies of job hunting that may or may not work in this economic downturn. A panel of experts will talk about what sectors are hiring, about the best ways to introduce yourself to a prospective company, and how to get yourself noticed – in the right way.

Guests

Janice Habash – YMCA Board Member, veteran of the financial services sector
Amy Noland – Co-Founder, Accrue Partners search and staffing firm
Since this is an encore presentation, we won’t be able to take your phone calls.

Click here to add and read comments

Listen to Show

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. My wife and I moved to Charlotte last year when she got a job in the Ballantyne area. I applied for jobs in Charlotte for three months with very few interviews and no offers. Feeling desperate, I decided to “cast a wider net” by applying for jobs in neighboring counties (York, Union, and Gaston). Of the 4 applications I sent out the first week, 3 resulted in interviews and 2 in job offers. Now I’m working for Gaston County Government and making 10% more a year than people with similar jobs in Charlotte.

    For what it’s worth, I have a Master of Public Health, strong computer skills, and international experience. The local governments and nonprofits in our neighboring counties often have trouble finding experienced, highly-educated employees. My advice to frustrated job seekers is to look just outside Mecklenburg’s borders.

  2. It has been a while since I was looking for work, but when I was I sent out applications to places all over. I understand that people do not want to move or leave where they feel comfortable. I lived in Victoria, TX whan I got laid off, within two weeks I had interviews in NAshville, TN and Detroit, MI. I spent two weeks in Detroit, staying with a friend of a friend, and went to 37 interviews. I interviewed for positions with 7Eleven, Pinkerton, the City of Troy and Flint, and many others. If you need a job you might need to look beyond what you currently do, and see how you can be qualified to do other things in other places.

  3. I found Ms. Noland to be extremely rude and I am ashamed that I am one of the people she sends to clients. Her terse attitude and non professionalism was apparent during her interview on Charlotte Talks. I have to say that if this is what Charlotte offers for a recruiter than I will have to say that I am going to look somewhere else.

    In this economy someone looking for a position wants to work arm and arm with their recruiter. Not feel like they are just someone like Accrue Partners can make money from the employee’s skills.

    I have had several bad experiences with recruiting companies, none of which have ever found me a job. It is a shame that someone with Accrue Partners “supposed” credentials would not work on my behalf. I use companies like Accrue Partners who has managed to me her to the worst of the worst temporary positions, paying very low while making high dollars from potential employers.

    My advice is to garner from Ms. Noland’s rude comments that they are like used car sales people only looking to make money off of the unfortunate that are looking for positions, selling hope but the car is an actual clunker.

    You should also question the fact that Accrue Partners is not working on the side of the employee, even if the employee is being proactive with them. Accrue Partners has been known to discriminate due to race and body type, I have been in their office while they spew their negative remarks. Tisk Tisk Amy Noland and your staff…. So they claim to be professional, actually not in this economic market. You ask how I can offer these opinions, it is because I am on the “roster” with Accrue Partners and for the past 5 years they have NEVER, EVER placed me in a position. Truth be told, find the position on your own, use your own network to find you a great job without a recruiter sticking their fingers in your cookie jar.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

