Wednesday July 15, 2009 | Double Door Inn & Local Music

July 14, 2009 at 12:06 pm | Posted in Coming Up | 7 Comments

Part One: The Double Door Inn
The Double Door Inn is a non-descript little club that used to be a hat shop in a former life, but it has become what many folks say is the longest running blues club in America. Musical icons such as Eric Clapton, Stevie Ray Vaughn and many others have played there and the club has has one owner in its history and the same bartender for over 34 years. We’ll take a closer look at the history of the Double Door Inn.
Guest
Daniel Coston
– Co-Author, Home of the Blues: 35 Years of the Double Door Inn

Part Two: Local Music and Open Crown Town Showdown
We’ll meet a man who is helping new musical acts find a voice in Charlotte and take a look at a couple of venues in Charlotte that are promoting a lively and ever-growing local music scene.
Guests
Eric Scott Guthrie
– Host, Find Your Muse Open Mic
Jeff Hahne – Music Editor, Creative Loafing

Click here to add and read comments

Listen to Show

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’ve seen a lot of great shows at the Double Door and I’ve played some myself (I’m a musician)

    But you forgot one other legendary Charlotte club – The Milestone.

    The club has been around since the late 1970s and was owned (he still owns the building I think) by the very eccentric Bill Flowers. When R.E.M. played there in 1981 Flowers let them sleep over in the club. Problem is, he locked them in! It wasn’t until the next afternoon that Bill Flowers showed up to let them out. R.E.M has talked about this in interviews.

    But the Milestone has had a number of great punk and alternative bands. Here’s a partial list:

    Nirvana, Husker Du, the Meatpuppets, Black Flag, Hole, The Replacements, John Cale, The Bangles, The Go Gos, Fugazi, Camper Van Beethoven, Fetchin Bones, Southern Culture on the Skids, etc. etc. etc

    Also the Milestone is the type of club where any new or struggling band is free to play. They are open to anything.

    I will look forward to a show on the Milestone by you folks, because somebody needs to do it. And you can’t forget to include stories about Bill Flowers, because he is part of the legend and the charm.

  2. I went to the Fillmore for the first time and liked it but not the NINE
    dollar beer price for a plastic cup of Bud Light. This is a new definition of outrageous. Bruce

  3. found your info very useful thanks

  4. -I was very delighted to discover this web site. I wanted to express my thanks for this read! I certainly enjoy every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you submit.

  5. I’m curious to find out what blog system if you’re utilizing?

    I’m having some little security issues with my latest internet site and I’d like to find
    some thing more safeguarded. Are you experiencing any solutions?

  6. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I truly
    enjoyed reading it, you will be a great author. I will make certain to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back from now on.

    I want to encourage you continue your great posts, have a nice day!

  7. You actually made a lot of superb stuff with ur posting, “Wednesday July 15,
    2009 | Double Door Inn & Local Music Charlotte Talks”.

    I will be coming to your site soon. Thx -Joel


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

